Political Structure of Costa Rica

Costa Rica is considered a republic with the political power distributed as follows;

Executive Branch – President of the Republic, elected every four years to only one term in office. Two Vice Presidents and a Presidential Cabinet made up of 22 State ministers. This group is involved in the social, economic and cultural areas.

Legislative Branch – composed of 57 elected individuals who are responsible for passing laws.

Judicial Branch - composed of a Supreme court with 4 tribunals, with high courts, local courts and civil branches across jurisdictions.

Supreme Court of Elections – is a separate entity which is responsible for operating and supervising the national elections.

In terms of education a compulsory public education system was established across all levels. As a result the government supplies funding for medical and educational programs. As a result, these areas have achieved high levels of achievement. Specifically, preventative medicine is key to a life expectancy of an average Costa Rican being 72-75 years of age.

There are almost 4 million inhabitants of Costa Rica and most are of Spanish decent. English, French, Italian and German are also spoken.

The country is made up of seven provinces, Alajuela, Cartago, Guanacaste, Heredia, Limon, Punterenas and San Jose. Coincidentally, the capital San Jose is named for the province it is in.


Filed Under: Culture

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.

9 − five =